November 8th, 2005 | 2 Comments
Watch Out For Internet Listing Service “Scam”
I’m not really sure whether I should call this a scam, but I thought I’d bring peoples attention to a mailing that seems to be going out to many domain owners at the moment.
Both myself and some colleagues have received letters from ilscorp.co.uk which, at a glance, appear to be an invoice charging £65 for domain name submission to search engines and search engine ranking reports.
If it was passed on to any unsuspecting accounts department it would more than likely get paid without much thought, but to me it is just a sneaky attempt to get you to part with some cash, and doesn’t really indicate what exactly you’ll be getting for your money.
To be fair to it, if you actually take the time to read the the whole letter, it does state “This is not a bill. This is a solicitation…”, but it does come dressed up as an invoice, and I wonder how many of these have resulted in people paying up without realising?
Anyone else fallen prey to this or know of any similar slightly underhand marketing tactics?

I’ve heard of cold calling business to appear in a sort of yellow pages on the web, strangly around the price was also around £65.
By the way, did you fancy comming along to this?
Thanks for letting me know about the Multipack Tom, I’ll be joining up when I get chance!
Rob.